Skip to content

In the News Asia Bookroom Peter Harrington johnson rare books & archives Benacense Studio Bibliografico di Mario Giupponi Kagerou Bunko Librairie Walden Tresor am Römer, Buch- und Kunstantiquariat

ILAB WEBINAR INVITATION: Wrapping up 2020 - We did it! But how?

ILAB Booksellers meet again and look back at a year of challenges, innovation and newly found skills
Articles ILAB Year End Webinar graphic

In April earlier this year, ILAB invited to a webinar with booksellers from across the globe to look at the immediate effect of the COVID pandemic on the rare book trade. A very good review of the webinar was published in Fine Books & Collections and can be read here: https://www.finebooksmagazine.com/blog/how-covid-19-affecting-antiquarian-booksellers

Since April, staff was furloughed, came back and was sent home again as some countries are now experiencing a new wave of infections and restrictions. Bookshops were boarded off and later reopened under strict hygienic measures. Some are closed again. Institutions shifted their budgets to 2021, some demanded much longer admin time than usual, others only recently moved their staff out of home office.
Nearly all book fairs were cancelled and the concept of virtual fairs gained momentum.
Online platforms saw a major increase in traffic and customers.

How has the rare book trade adapted to this new landscape eight months on?
How did booksellers handle this extreme situation and what have we learned we can share with our colleagues?
Can we take some positives from 2020 and apply to a post-COVID world?

Sally Burdon, ILAB President and moderator of the event, will speak again to:

Mario Giupponi, Italy
Brad Johnson, US
Pom Harrington, UK
Ryu Sato, Japan
Hervé Valentin, France
and Sibylle Wieduwilt, Germany

DATE: 7th December 2020 at 1pm London time

Further sample times:
Los Angeles: 5am
New York: 8am
London: 1pm
erlin, Paris, Rome, Amsterdam, Stockholm: 2pm
Moscow: 4pm
Tokyo: 10pm
Canberra: 00:00 midnight

Please use the following link and register (only name and email address necessary): https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_cbV9YfCeT1-ehbIvej9cGA

You can join with any laptop, computer, smartphone or tablet. If you have not used the video conferencing software ZOOM before, please allow a few minutes beforehand to wait for the system to be installed.
Please contact the ILAB Office if you need any help on that.
The webinar will take place in English language.